The Economic Adventures of a Transborder Street Musician

Heading down south for the big Pesos.

Cyber Busking November 27, 2007

Filed under: Cyber busking — ramonalvarado @ 2:12 am
Tags: , , , , , , ,

For the past few days it has been quite cold out here and it even snowed for over a day during the weekend. I know that it sounds kind of weird to mention the fact that the snow lasted over a day but it is a remarkable fact in this border region. We do get snow sometimes but it is usually through a fairly brief snowfall that also tends not to stay once it hits the ground. Anyway, what you already know and what I am getting at is that we don’t have an intricate and welcoming underground subway station system like my colleague does in NYC, so I haven’t ventured out to the streets. I have however come up with an idea: cyber busking.

I have decided to upload a performance of one of my songs on video every once in while, maybe when I can’t make it to the streets, or maybe whenever I have a new one to share, it doesn’t matter. What matters is the idea of busking it online. I have added a paypal button where you can drop your coins if you liked what you hear or if you feel like I need a beer or something to lighten up and sing better. Whatever the reason is, please feel free to let me know what you think, if you don’t have any coins to share, then share a comment.

This is the first one and it’s kind of lo-fi, I’ll try to make it better next time. The song is called “A Guantanamera” and it’s all about Guantanamo. I know it’s a little screamy but then again the subject matter calls for it.

 

3 Responses to “Cyber Busking”

  1. julia Says:

    amigo tu ingenio no tiene limites, en verda es una de las cosas que mas me gusta de ti. jeje. por ahora te dejo un cometario. esos dias de nieve los disfruto tanto como los dias que llueve, bueno en el paso/juarez claro…que es algo raro por decirle asi, y pues eso hace que uno goze de ello mas. ya esta tarde, me despido.

  2. Saw Lady Says:

    Hi Ramon,
    Very cool video!
    Yes, in winter I am so grateful for the subway system…
    Strange how you had snow while we up north are having a nice 55 degrees weather… we haven’t had snow yet this year.
    I tried the Paypal Donations thing too – you might want to put the button on your blog itself (as opposed to on a post). But I find that having google ads on my blog works better…
    Stay warm,
    all the best,
    Natalia

  3. ramonalvarado Says:

    Thanks for the tip Natalia, I am about to do that adsense thing too, to se how it goes. I did try to plug the donation button in the blog itself but it is near impossible with wordpress, as far as I know. I’ve been reading all kinds of technical blogs on it but from what I’ve seen it doesn’t work if it is a free wordpress account, I’ll keep trying though. Thanks for the comment on the video…


Leave a comment