The Economic Adventures of a Transborder Street Musician

Heading down south for the big Pesos.

Cheers. December 31, 2007

Filed under: the people — ramonalvarado @ 8:13 pm
Tags: , , , , , ,

img_0116.jpgjuarez avenue crowdulisesimg_0114.jpgchavillosimg_0135.jpgsotoimg_0208.jpgfranquicia tamborablurry downtownimg_0177.jpgLa morenazanew hatalcranesmata-chinesBK brothers

I haven’t actually busked these past days, busy holiday schedules from the corporate side of the anti-cruisers have kept me from the streets, but today something interesting happened. I had some business to attend in downtown El Paso and as I was forming a line I recognized the gentleman in front of me.

He came and talked to me the first day I busked at the Museum pitch. When he first approached me I thought that he wasn’t all there, but as we spoke he struck me as an extremely lucid person only a little weird, but aren’t we all? He spoke four languages perfectly and a little french. That time he told me all about his home town in Jalisco. I happen to have been to that little town more than three times in my hitch hiking adventures, so we got to talk and he showed me some pictures and stuff. Anyway, I never saw him again until today, in front of me in this line. So I just told him: “You came from Lagos de Moreno, Jalisco, right?” And he seemed taken aback, so he remained silent and then turned and said: “When did I mentioned that?” I told him how we had met in Juarez and stuff and he recalled the occasion. He didn’t say much though, it was his turn at the window and he went about his business. When he was done he just said good luck and took off. As I was talking to the lady at the window he approached me and asked: “Are you still playing there?” I told him that I still did at least twice a week, so he reached into his pocket and told me: “Here’s a little tip for next time.” He gave me 75 cents. It was the last tip of the year, or the first of the new one? Since it was given to me as a tip for next time I play and the next time will be next year… I’ll have to ask him next time I see him. 

Great endings but better beginnings to all.

img_0079.jpgHe plays the violin tooimg_0093.jpgimg_0075.jpgAlacran (native scorpion) man.img_0097.jpgimg_0063.jpgEl Mysticoimg_0063.jpgrutacathedraltambora franchiseandinoscalleblurry downtownLa morena

 

One Response to “Cheers.”

  1. Saw Lady Says:

    Happy 2008!
    May this year be a gate for only good things to come your way!

    Saw Lady


Leave a Reply

